Whether you’re bathing your baby in the sink or splashing around with your toddler in the bathtub, water is great fun for kids. But it’s also a place where safety must come first, so here are a few tips for kids who love to get wet.
There are so many great reasons to ride your bike: It offers fun, freedom and exercise, and it’s good for the environment. Here are a few tips so that you will be as safe as possible while you’re doing it.
Heatstroke is the leading cause of non-crash, vehicle-related deaths for children. On average, every 10 days a child dies from heatstroke in a vehicle.
KERN COUNTY LOW COST CAR SEAT SAFETY EDUCATION PROGRAM
- Kern County residents who are the parent or legal guardian of a child 0 to 12 years of age and currently participates in WIC, CAL FRESH or Medi-cal programs.
- If you are pregnant please enroll in a class in your third trimester (or the last three months of your pregnancy).
- The program will only provide one car safety seat per family.
- Foster Parents
- Grandparents (unless guardians, provide documentation at class)
- Parents or Legal Guardians who have already received a child safety seat through this low cost car seat safety program
- Child Care Providers
- Register for the Kern County Low Cost Car Seat Safety Education class by calling Public Health at 661-321-3000. Car Seat Safety classes are held monthly around Kern County. Please arrive a few minutes early as class will begin on time and late arrivals are not accepted.
- Eligibility for this education program requires you to be currently participating in WIC or Cal Fresh or Medical. Please bring the program information and your ID to the class.
- No cell phones, food or drinks are allowed and classes are for adults only as child care is not provided.
- Call Public Health at 661-321-3000 to make an appointment for a free car seat safety check in your vehicle.
- Appointments are available Monday through Friday at Public Health (1800 Mt Vernon Ave, Bakersfield) from 8:30 am- 5:00 pm.
- Who’s Got Car Seats A list of CPS programs and services in California by county. Check to see which organizations provide car seat inspection services.
Car Seat Safety Resources:
New California Law Assembly Bill (AB) 53 will become effective January 1, 2017 requires a parent, legal guardian, or the driver of a motor vehicle to properly secure a child who is under 2 years of age in an appropriate rear-facing child passenger restraint system, unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches in height. RF UNTIL 2 The New Law Assembly Bill
2012 California Child Passenger Safety Law requires a child under the age of 8 be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat. For each child under 16 who is not properly secured, the driver (and parent if in the car) will be fined more than $475 and one point on their driving record. 2012 California Child Passenger Safety Law
Car Seat by Child’s Age and Size http://www.safercar.gov/parents/CarSeats/Right-Car-Seat-Age-Size.htm
Car Seat Types http://www.safercar.gov/parents/CarSeats/Car-Seat-Types.htm
How to Install Your Car Seat Safercar.gov
Get Car Sat Recall Notices http://www.safercar.gov/parents/CarSeats/Car-Seat-Recalls.htm